Default limit for dedupe screen setting does not behave as expected - remove?
The "Default limit for dedupe screen" setting does not behave as expected. It limits the duplicate search to the first N contacts in the database, ignoring the selected group. There is no way to dedupe the contacts beyond the limit. This seems to be the desired behaviour when it was set up in 2016:
But this makes little sense from a user's perspective. I can't think of a reasonable use case for the function as is; limiting by group makes much more sense than by the first N contacts. As it stands, this is confusing as the user expects that if there is a limit, there would be some way to check the next set of contacts (and that the limit would be applied within the selected group).
Should the limit setting be removed until the system is changed? Or is there a use case for this setting and how can we make the explanatory text reflect that?