Contact Reference fields are not updated when merging contacts
When contacts are merged, any Contact Reference custom fields pointing to the contact that was deleted will not be updated to point to the remaining contact.
This is not a recent regression. It used to work in 4.6, but was broken at some point after that. (Confirmed as broken in 5.7, 5.13 and master.)